Action

Monkey braining (drunken monkeys swinging through the jungle) sucks. Can’t concentrate. Feels like there are bees buzzing where there should be calm waters…

Really what I’m talking about is thinking too much, distractedly, about random things, which happens a lot when I spend a lot of time on Facebook and on the internet, generally, but is also an affliction of the masses, through out all of human history (and thus cannot be blamed on Facebook, although Facebook enhances our ability to monkey brain). Then I can’t sleep very well or read or write or carry on decent conversations without looking at my phone, just in case there’s a text or an email or a Facebook message…

This year, 2013, I will start with action: I went to a gym and did something I’ve never wanted to do (I don’t know why — maybe I’ve been a chicken, bok bok): I met with a personal trainer for a demonstration on various new, fangled exercise things.

I hung from straps and jumped around like a gazelle and lifted some heavy medal things that looked like teapots made to bludgeon your enemies then I did a little running on the tread mill and I feel great, mainly because I didn’t think about anything but jumping and hanging and running. Actually, I didn’t think at all.  I just did those things (jump, hang, run).  

Yes.  2013 begins with action.  That is right.

Image

Herbach, wearing underarmour, does not think today.

 

0 Responses to “Action”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

