Texas is Big and Ready.

I’ve now been to Texas twice in the last 6 months or so.  Before that, I’d never been in the state. Of course, I have a fairly limited view. But I like Texas, a lot. The book community, both library/school and blogger, is so energetic, ginormous, and organized. I met up with tons of librarians, signed a couple hundred books, talked with all sorts of teens from all over the state, and ate some fine food with excellent bloggers who barked out book titles like they were riding donkeys across the flaming desert (that’s symbolic language).

Before this last six months, mostly what I thought about when I thought about Texas was: George W. Bush, Ross Perot, and the movie Slacker. It didn’t make sense. Now my understanding is a little bigger. There’s a whole, huge crew of people in Texas who are so serious about books, they’re willing to fight hard, lay it all on the line.

This is a true life scene. It happened in Houston.

Jenn, me and Tillie fighting for books.

Thanks Sourcebooks for inviting me to TxLA12. That was a very good couple of days.

2 Responses to “Texas is Big and Ready.”


  1. 1 cariblogs May 2, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I love this picture! I’m so glad you came to Texas and I hope you get to come back soon!


Leave a Reply

