Thanks for the Valentine’s Cybils Pick @SourcebooksFire

I’m just feeling very good this Valentine’s Day.  Steph is sitting next to me, all Goth Mom and serious about whatever deep, dark emotion she’s experiencing, that she can’t quite express. I’m more like happy Unicorn Dad (I should have some kind of leather strap tied around my head, maybe a feathered clip of some kind).  Steph is here and The Cybils, The Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers Literary Awards picked Stupid Fast as their top YA Fiction book of 2011.  That’s a very big deal to me.

1. There are a lot of enormously great YA books out there right now.  Having Stupid Fast mentioned with some of them is seriously validating.

2. I spend a lot of time thinking about how I can make stuff that boys want to read (a lot of time trying to connect with how seriously cool and complicated male teens can be). That an audience broader than very hungry young dudes thinks the book has value gives me a lot of hope.

3. Sourcebooks, my publisher, has put a lot of effort into supporting this weird, rambly book (when other publishers wouldn’t), and this sort of award hopefully validates their choice! Leah, Derry, Kelly, Todd, among others, I’ve sometimes felt a bit… what’s the word… fraudy?  uh, something like that, because you guys are so dang good to me.

4. I’ve been in awe of YA book bloggers. So much energy and care and passion all born of love, not monetary reward.  To have a group of bloggers want to celebrate Stupid Fast feels like a seriously fat, gigantic world hug.  And on Valentine’s Day.

Goth Mom, Steph, works next to me. I’m really like freaking Unicorn Dad, today.  Thanks Cybils.  I’ll remove the leather strap and the feather tomorrow, get back to business.

5 Responses to “Thanks for the Valentine’s Cybils Pick @SourcebooksFire”


  1. 1 Denis Herbach February 14, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Hi Geoff, once more very proud of you !!

    Warm kisses to Mira and Steph and big hugs to Leo

    Any news about where to stay in NY in May ?

    Love ya

    • 2 Mat February 14, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      We would not be opposed to you continuing to wear said Unicorn regalia. In fact, we may actively hope for it.

      Congrats on your continued awesomeness.

  2. 3 Jim Hill February 17, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Hi Geoff,

    Just a word to let you know the Cybils Award is working for you (at least once, anyway). I saw “Stupid Fast” on the list and bought it after reading the first page. Really glad I did.

    Great book, and a very interesting character with a unique voice. I think you’ve done an excellent job capturing the inner-mania of a teenage boy. Conflict, ego, embarrassment, impulse, remorse – those teen boy brains are flooded with feelings. Felton lives and breathes on your pages.

    I’ve already started pushing it on my VCFA classmates. You’ve earned that unicorn regalia. Wear it with pride.

    Marking my calendar for May 1 and Nothing Special. Can’t wait to read Andrew’s story.

    • 4 Geoff Herbach February 17, 2012 at 11:34 am

      Hi Jim,
      So glad you liked Stupid Fast. The Cybils thing has been great. Thanks so much. By the way, I’m also interested in making milk come out the collective noses of the nation’s children. This is an important mission!
      I’ll slap a VCFA bumper sticker on my unicorn shirt.
      Thanks again, Jim.
      Geoff

  3. 5 Sadie February 18, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    AHHHHHHH! YOU GOT IT! Oh my gosh! This is so fantastic, I hope you celebrated accordingly. Congratulations, I hope the semester is going well.


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

