4. I have to be thankful for Steph

Why?  You could throw us in a ditch and we’d have a good time.  We could be stuck in a heavy rain, in a big dank puddle, wearing leather sandals and we’d have a good time.

I like watching her make dinner.  I like her watching me wash dishes.  I like going to the grocery store with her.  I like the mall.  I like the gas station.  I like the doctors office.  I like the DMV.

I like it when she picks me up from class.  I like dropping her off at her class.  I like eating Chinese food with her, even if it’s from the basement of the student union in Mankato.  I like Thanksgiving with her, even with all the poor kids going stir crazy after four days of too much pumpkin pie, fantastic sing-alongs, video game anxieties, big-time football, large wolf spiders in the damn shower, broken picture frames and food mushed into the floor — our kids are hilarious and we had a great time.

I like airports with her (early in the morning, late at night).  I like parking lots with her (big ones in the city, little cold ones covered in ice).  I like going to the bank, going to the post office, climbing through the crawlspace with a mousetrap, terrified of what I might find… it’s still good.  I like everything more with Steph.

When I give my kids advice about how you know if it’s right, I’ll say this: is it better when he/she is around?  Is regular life better better?  Is the good better?  The bad better?  The bored off your ass better?

Everything is better.

And now Steph and I are married.  Yes.  Thankful.

Even freaking Perkins is better.

Thus ends 2011 Thanks.  It’s the end of the semester and I will begin my bitching.

7 Responses to “4. I have to be thankful for Steph”


  1. 1 Mat November 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Oh, Geoff. You’re awesome. (And, I suppose, that means I need to think of a better-than-awesome word for when you’re standing next to Steph!)

  2. 2 Denis Herbach November 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    I am very glad for you (and for Steph, of course ) .
    I am very glad for Mira and Leo,, because you will be a much better father feeling the way you do.
    And of course your students will enjoy your classes much more, because you must be an even better teacher, being so much in love.

  3. 3 philosophermouseofthehedge December 2, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Sounds like a keeper. (makes airports better?) Great advice for your kids,too.

  4. 4 Audrey February 7, 2012 at 2:35 am

    I don’t know you, or Steph, but your post made me smile! Good to know there is love like that still out there.

  5. 6 Matthew October 21, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    Dear Geoff,
    Right now I am reading Fat boy vs the cheerleaders as a uncorrected copy my mom got me and in chapter 3 at the beginning I can’t stop laughing. Where did you get the ass dancing scene from it is hilarious.
    ,your reader truly Matthew


Leave a Reply

