Thanksgiving 2. Leo

I’m a little like a Jewish mother with the bragging, but that’s what I got. Of course, this is the time of year to be thankful.  In February, during my winter festival of bitching, I’ll reveal all of the stuff that’s crap.  Today, however, I give thanks again.

My son, Leo, is almost 14.  In a lot of ways, he’s like me.  We like the same stuff: football, music, movies (when visiting New York last summer, we went to a bunch of indie movie theaters and saw film after film, day after day).  In many ways we’re not alike at all.  When I was thirteen, I watched a lot of TV in the basement.  Leo practices piano, drums, ukelele, accordion.  He is getting very good at all of them.  When I was thirteen, I rode a BMX bike around and around, looking for garbage cans to knock over.  Leo films and edits increasingly crisp narratives (funny, goofy-ass stuff).  When I was thirteen, I had to stay after school for breakdancing in class.  Leo has a doofus streak, but he seems to understand where to use and where to not, which is a fantastic skill. I wonder what was wrong with me?  I always did well enough in school, but I always felt on the edge of out of control, like a small, back wheel drive car on a curving gravel road.  I can’t tell you how happy I am to have a self-possessed child.

Yes, I am very thankful for all of this.

Leo

 

6 Responses to “Thanksgiving 2. Leo”


  1. 1 Denis Herbach November 21, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Dear Geoff,

    I read your posts on Mira and Leo and I love both.
    I have a special feeling for you and your kids, Geoff.
    Maybe it is because you remind me so much of my dear brother.
    Or maybe it is because you write so well.
    Or maybe it is because I just love you. Period.

    Or maybe it is the combination of the 3.
    Big hug, my dearest nephew
    Uncle Den

  2. 3 philosophermouseofthehedge November 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Cute kids – nice pictures – great words.

  3. 5 Sheila November 21, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Oh I really love this Geoff. Love to hear how your boy is growing up, and how lucky you are to have these special children. I like to think of you in movie after movie in NY.


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

