Nothing Special

I just delivered Stupid Fast’s sequel, Nothing Special, to the publisher. I’m pretty excited about it.  Felton becomes an absolute monster on the field, a mega-player.  He loses his balance, though, and loses Gus, Aleah, and Andrew, his poor little brother.  To be the kind of dude he really wants to be, he will have to learn, go where he doesn’t want to go, and rebuild what’s been broken (with a lot of help).  Oh yeah… He’ll have to make it to Florida, twice.

7 Responses to “Nothing Special”


  1. 1 Caroline Starr Rose October 13, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I absolutely can’t wait, Geoff!

  2. 3 Geoff Herbach October 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Yea! Thanks, Caroline! Can’t wait for May B!!!

  3. 4 Carrie Mesrobian October 14, 2011 at 9:33 am

    This is great news. I can’t wait to see what Felton gets up to next.

  4. 5 @markswords October 25, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Hey Geoff, loved Stupid Fast! I’m incredibly impressed that you finished the sequel so quickly, what is your editing process like? I finished writing a book for YA boys in April and the editing is making me go crazy. I’ve been reading other books for YA boys as inspiration, can you suggest any others that inspired you?

    • 6 Geoff Herbach October 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

      Hey Mark, Thanks! I had a pretty tough deadline on Nothing Special, so I really spent the summer just generating my ass off. I then had an editor at Sourcebooks who commented and that helped (as I’d gone totally blind — you know when you stare at something too much). After that I took about two weeks a piece on a couple of big rewrites and then… I guess there it is. I think the thing turned out. I really love John Green. Loved Looking for Alaska. Also been reading John Coy lately. Good stuff!


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

