When I was a kid, I’d run head first into the refrigerator

I have a double standard.  When I was a kid, I’d put on a football helmet, run down the stairs from my bedroom, leap over ottoman and coffee table, dodge the freaking cat (vicious: named Lil Bit), then crash through the kitchen to put a hit on the refrigerator (nearly knocked myself out once).  I rode my bike off small cliffs.  I skied into woods at 60 miles an hour.  I jumped off the roof of my house into the sandbox.  I threw rocks at wasp nests.  I was an idiot.  And, I was very happy.

Now my son is playing football and I’m all like, “Whoa.  Jeez, man.  You sure you want to do this?  Uh… there are some big kids out there, right?  Killers.  They want to hurt you.  You know that don’t you?  Pop you.  Take your head off.  You have to be prepared for that. Hit them first!  Hey… I like your piano playing.  What’s wrong with piano?  Isn’t piano enough for you?”

What’s my problem?

I want to protect the boy.  He does not want to be protected.  I really loved playing football, too.  It was my favorite thing.  I liked getting hit.  I liked hitting.  I liked it when my ears rang.  That’s not healthy, I know.  Still. Football is seriously fun.  Must get over it, Herbach.

Number 80.

Okay, I’m trying to get all my junk ready for a new website, so I’m not posting much.  In the meantime, if you have Stupid Fast questions and you’re not finding the information here, just email me — geoff (dot) herbach (at) gmail (dot) com.  Why write it that way?  I don’t know.  Other people do it.  Hackers?  Spammers?  Is that who I’m hiding from?

2 Responses to “When I was a kid, I’d run head first into the refrigerator”


  1. 1 philosophermouseofthehedge November 15, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Cat avoidance. Riding off cliffs. throwing rocks at wasps, Sounds like a great childhood. …Same action with a different generation – because you understand it’s harder to watch…just clinch teeth and try to smile bravely with encouragement.


Leave a Reply

