Back to School

Suddenly, I’m walking around campus with a purpose.  I’m stuffing stuff in my syllabi.  I’m plugging numbers and passwords into various software packages.  I’m monitoring my voicemail.   I’m answering email.  My calendar is full of business.

A couple of days ago, I sat staring at Burger King from across the street for over an hour, because I had the time.  Staring at Burger King helps me.  Lots of people going through the drive thru.  What do they all want?  To feel full.  Of burger?  Probably not.  They don’t know what they want or they wouldn’t be at Burger King.  They’d be growing vegetables or spinning alpaca into wool for their sister’s new sweater. They’d be biking out on that trail that goes to that dam.  No good comes from Burger King (unless you own Burger King).

Now I’ve got to make my calendar make sense.  Those of you who are still on a break of some kind… pause… remember… you don’t have to be anywhere.  Isn’t that terrific?

Thankfully, I do like my job a whole lot.  The change of season takes getting used to.

Prepping

 

0 Responses to “Back to School”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

