Thanks Especially to Book Bloggers (And Good Night)

Just completed Nothing Special, the sequel to Stupid Fast (coming in spring 2012).  I am burned out, so I’m going to stay off the blog for a couple more weeks…

Seems like most peeps get here looking for Stupid Fast, so here are a few things I’d like to leave you with… A few bits from my favorite reviews…

This from the Minneapolis Star Tribune:

“Whip-smart and painfully self-aware, Stupid Fast is a funny and agonizing glimpse into the teenage brain…Young readers looking for a genuinely memorable first-person narrator — in the vein of Sherman Alexie’s Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian or Pete Hautman’sGodless — should really catch up to Stupid Fast this summer.” — Minneapolis Star Tribune, June 8, 20011

This one is from VOYA, a mag that serves kids’ librarians:

“In the tradition of great young adult protagonists like Holden Caulfield and Eric “Moby” Calhoune comes Felton Reinstein, soon to be sixteen… This novel is Herbach’s first for a teen audience, but you would not guess that from the authentic teen voice of his protagonist. The author manages to deftly balance humor with high-stakes, emotional storytelling and even includes some romance to boot. Surprises abound in this future youth classic, not the least of which is how Felton comes to terms with his newfound inner jock. While male reluctant readers with an interest in football or running will especially connect with this novel, it is difficult to imagine a reader who will not find Felton’s tale compelling and highly entertaining.”VOYA, June 2011

This one is from Shelf Awareness, which serves Indie Bookstores:

“It’s rare to gain access to a male teen’s thoughts at his most vulnerable… Felton is a hero for all readers–male and female. And Herbach (who admits to growing up in Wisconsin as “both a dork and a jock”) is a writer to watch.”Shelf-Awareness, May 18

And… You know who I really like? YA bloggers. What an incredible community of book lovers are out there.  They do such an amazing job spreading the word about good books.  They are so thorough and dedicated and careful.  Here are a few Stupid Fast blog reviews, etc. that I just really like a lot.

  • Sarah at YA Love is a high school teacher who put the book in a classroom.
  • Carol at Carol’s Corner is a mom and educator who considered the book and her boys.
  • Lisa the Nerd got caught up in the painful drama, which I appreciate!
  • The awesome Cari — Cari’s Book Blog — didn’t follow Felton’s rambling at first (this is a fair criticism, of course — I live or die with the ramble), but stuck with it and uncovered the story.  Good stuff.
  • Grace at Bunny Blogs (associated with The Velveteen Rabbit Bookshop) focused on the lack of coming of age books for boys.
  • I love these guys: The bloggers who participate in Teen Book Scene tours have done really wonderful stuff: Great reviews for instance from Jessica at Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile and Jami at YA Addict.  Jami also did a really good “character” interview of Felton.  And, I really, really love Kari’s interview with Andrew in her good addiction blog. There’s a ton more, too.  These people are really fantastic! If you like YA, follow them!
  • Finally, Barry Eva, from Book and a Chat, did an hour long interview with me on his blog radio channel. We talked about everything.  Eva is a very funny fellow (in a Monty Python sort of way).  You can listen to that here!
The list is definitely not comprehensive. I just wanted to highlight a few. Before I wrote young adult, I had no idea that such a large, serious online book community existed.  It’s been a huge joy to interact with these like-minded book peeps. I’m so happy they’re here.  Thank you, bloggers!
Now, I’m going to go to work.  For four weeks.  Nonstop.  (Except for the Literary Death Match on Sunday night, which might kill me).

BEA Books of Wonder -- photo by book blogger Alex Bennett, electrifyingreviews.com

9 Responses to “Thanks Especially to Book Bloggers (And Good Night)”


  1. 1 Ben Wheeler June 3, 2011 at 9:18 am

    I picked up my copy of ‘Stupid Fast’ two days ago–the edition is really nice. I’m excited to read it again. Sorry you got sick. Even more sorry you lost part of the book. I’m compulsive and weird about saving and backing up and saving and backing up. Have you used/heard of Dropbox? That program saved my brain.

    Good luck with the book launch. See you in the fall.

    • 2 Geoff Herbach June 3, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Hey Ben, I now have dropbox and a brand new external hard drive. I will be crazy about this from now on. Hope the summer goes great (and, the marriage, of course!).

  2. 3 scott neumyer June 3, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Have you tried a recovery service? There are some out there that can recover data that you probably thought was lost forever. Might be worth a shot… 🙂

    • 4 Geoff Herbach June 3, 2011 at 10:43 am

      I am going to send it off, Scott. After trying the easy routes with no luck, somebody mentioned one of these places. I feel like I better plow ahead on this project, just in case nothing usable from that disc ever shows again!

  3. 5 Ms. Yingling June 6, 2011 at 4:57 am

    Did love Stupid Fast. The writing is extraordinary. But please, please Mr. Herbach, don’t use the f-bomb in the next book! I know it may seem silly, but it makes this a hard book to have in a middle school. Which is a shame, because it really was brilliant and I can’t wait to read your next book.

    • 6 Geoff Herbach June 6, 2011 at 7:53 am

      It’s funny, Ms. Yingling, I don’t remember using the f-bomb except a couple of times. It isn’t something I thought about. My kids go to Minneapolis public schools where this is not a concern at all (They read Bless the Beasts and the Children in seventh grade). I will be more cognizant going forward. Thank you!

  4. 7 Ms. Yingling June 6, 2011 at 10:45 am

    THANK YOU! I’ve had 6th graders come to the desk with red faces and whisper “Did you know there was a bad word in here?” and it will be damn. I appreciate that you are open to thinking about this.

  5. 8 Jordan Wiklund June 10, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Great reading tonight, Geoff! Nice to meet you, and congratulations. I might have suspected a Hamline grad had I not known–‘monkey mind’ sounds awfully familiar!

    Be well,

    Jordan


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

