Monkey Brain Flinch?

Hard to know when to say when.  In this case, I have a hundred and thirty things to do and have fallen down due to some kind of crazy New York-based lung incapacitation that has limited my energy to one hour bursts.  When to say stop?  I’m talking about coffee, which makes me feel great for about ten minutes.  After that, my monkey thoughts take off in two-hundred directions but I can’t get the body to move.  I think this whole problem is related to some recent trauma I suffered while at BEA last week…

Here’s what happened:

1) My phone was run over by a car a few weeks ago.

2) It stopped working entirely while I was in New York last week.

3) I bought a brand new, excellent looking iPhone.

4) I plugged the new iPhone into my computer and my hard drive freaked, screamed in pain and died.

5) I have a book manuscript due in one month, which I’d been working on, which I hadn’t backed up on that dead hard drive.

6) My lungs stopped working and I’m drinking coffee all day long with seriously diminishing returns (and total wild monkey brain).

Out of haze, giant hand pinches my head

Next week is a big week.  Literary Death Match on Sunday, big meeting I want to attend Tuesday, Book Launch at Red Balloon on Friday and, I have to re-write a few hundred manuscript pages.  Should I stop drinking coffee now so that I have a low enough caffeine tolerance next week so that my  coffee might have some kind of longer-than-ten-minute affect?

Now, I’m not entirely sure what I’m writing about.  This might be a monkey brain flinch.  Hello?

5 Responses to “Monkey Brain Flinch?”


  1. 1 Janet May 31, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    AHHH. Did you take your computer to a Geek Patrol guru or something like that. They can pull all the “stuff” off your hard drive. Yes. They can, they can. Believe, Geoff. Believe.

    • 2 Geoff Herbach May 31, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      I’ve had one failed attempt at retrieving data. That’s not my last stop, though! Thanks, Janet. I will believe!

  2. 3 gae May 31, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I cant read about how you lost a few hundred pages of your manuscript. It is making me weep. You dont want me to keep weeping, do you?

    • 4 Geoff Herbach May 31, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      If it makes you feel any better, Gae, many of those pages were terrible and this is a real opportunity to get the next book right!

      Woo hoo?

      Don’t cry!


Leave a Reply

