Staring at elephant backsides by myself, or not.

Sitting at my kitchen table this morning, drinking too much coffee so that my elbows buzz, beating my figurative head against a figurative elephant ass, making no progress whatsoever in moving this freaking elephant, I became nostalgic for the good old days, when I wrote largely in a crew of writers who were nice looking (good facial hair, great looking glasses, excellent smiles) and then put on a show with a bunch of musicians, singers, actors, as well as the writers.  There was no way for me to get stuck, because some nice looking person was always there to pull me out of my elephant hole with their own good looking thinking.

Yeah, the most fun I’ve ever had was sitting around with Sam Osterhout, Brady Bergeson, Steph Ash and Andy Sturdevant.  We’d eat cheese fries at some Kopper Kettle in Iowa and we’d giggle for hours.  Or, maybe practices were the best, with Dave Salmela and Jenny Adams Salmela and the band.  That’s fun. We’d sing dumb songs about babies and kitties until they made perfect sense.  Hmm…

It is sort of a big life choice: strike out on your own or work in a crew.  I am going to spend some time thinking about what more socially-oriented work brings verses this focused aloneness.  Is this aloneness why writers have a depression rep, maybe?  Oh, I think, perhaps.

I want to do collaborative work.  Now, please!  It is seriously so much more fun than staring at elephant asses all by myself.  And we did good stuff, really…

This goofy musical, for instance, is good.

6 Responses to “Staring at elephant backsides by myself, or not.”


  1. 4 denis herbach April 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Hi Geoff

    I did not quite understand your FB remark, so I decided to read your blog > I like your writing style although I do not always understand completely what you mean.
    The same applies to Steph ´s FB entries.

    But anyhow I want to congratulate you for your work. And also tell you how I miss being closer to you guys, you and your children, Yol, etc > you are going to New York in May, right ?

    Big hug to you and kisses to Leo, Mira and Steph

    With love, Den

    • 5 Geoff Herbach April 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Love to you, Denis! We need to start writing in Portuguese (or with fewer obscure cultural references!).

      • 6 denis herbach April 27, 2011 at 10:15 am

        Well, yes, fewer obscure cultural references is fine… will make me go less to Google to find out what the hell are you ( and Steph ) talking about !!

        Kisses to all …


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

