I cannot make things with my hands

When I was a kid, I tried to draw.  My hands don’t work that way, though.  My lines veered all over.  My circles were egg drops.  So frustrating.  I really wanted to draw myself in heroic poses: stopping trains, flying, winning ping pong championships against the Chinese team.  I never moved much past stick figures, though (I can accurately depict the angle of legs in sprinting motion in stick figure form — that is a victory).

In the last few years, several friends have really helped me out, though.   Here is one of Andy Sturdevant’s original Electric Arc Radio depictions of the character I played (Herbach — very imaginative).  I don’t exactly look capable of defeating the Chinese ping pong team, but I do look capable of falling asleep while driving, which was true of my character.  Herbach was capable of driving across town while asleep in the show.  He probably would have a crate of oranges and a terrified old man stuck to the grill.  That’s heroic, right?

I’m going to gather as much Herbach art work as I can find.  Diana Joseph, a great writer and my pal at Minnesota State, Mankato, hosts these craft nights, during which those who are in control of their hands (turns out to be most people who aren’t me) make really cool things.  The nights make me nervous.  Because I sit there with my hands not working, making terrible looking crafts, while others around me make really excellent stuff.  In fact, Diana has a great new shop on Etsy, in which you can buy some of her wares.  I want to make things with my hands.  How can I make my hands work?  Is there a way to train them?

Jorge Evans' Herbach Stamp

Jorge Evans, of Rocksaw Press, can make stuff.   I’m going to make some stuff.  I want to.

3 Responses to “I cannot make things with my hands”


  1. 1 Britt March 5, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I’m building a garage in my backyard. Come on over when the snow is gone and I’ll show you how to make things with your hands.

  2. 2 Geoff Herbach March 5, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I actually might, Britt. I don’t want to have nothing but computer in my life (Steph is not computer, thankfully).

  3. 3 Britt March 5, 2011 at 11:43 am

    You know, I actually do some of my writing in little notebooks, the old fashioned way, with a ball-point pen. I wrote a poem yesterday while having a beer in a bar down the street. No computer needed. 🙂


Leave a Reply

