Junior Library Guild

My book, Stupid Fast, which comes out in a few months, is a Junior Library Guild selection.  JLG is a hugely great organization.  I’m very lucky, definitely.  Still, I’m not sure what the selection means for the book.  This little pyramid graphic on their website leads me to think it’s pretty good news.

I can’t be too crazy, though.  One thing I’ve definitely come to trust in: when you write stuff, don’t count on lots of people reading your stuff (maybe they will, maybe they won’t — just keep writing stuff, because that’s what you do). And, really, no point in worrying, because you really can’t do a lot to affect readership (even though we all try).  Don’t worry.  Don’t worry.

Worry?  At the AWP conference, panelist after panelist wrung their hands and worried that books really are done or are evolving so quickly none of us currently writing will understand how to write them by sometime next month…  Can a nice selection affect the rapid-fire evolution of the book (books are changing into genius robots that incorporate colorful video and also know you better than you know yourself, so they can help you find local restaurants that best serve your needs — that’s the word on the street)?  Worry.

I guess I will try to stay detached, because who knows about books at all and I don’t know the exact meaning of this really nice selection from this fantastically good organization… exactly, and I have lots of errands to run, too.

But this: I’m very, very, very grateful to the Junior Library Guild for selecting Stupid Fast.  At the very least, somebody very smart, somebody who cares about books, read mine and really liked it.  That’s really good.

2 Responses to “Junior Library Guild”


  1. 1 Jordan Fuller February 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I know I pre-ordered it. Looking forward to your later books.


Leave a Reply

