AWP

I’m on my way to DC for the Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP) annual conference.  This conference is a giant clusternut of writerly fear and loathing.  There, outside the center, will stand 2000 MFA students, mostly wearing dorky glasses, many smoking to hide behind smoke, mostly staring at other MFA students who are wondering if the other MFA students are people worth knowing for professional reasons.

By Friday, after some good panel discussions, and some quite amazingly not good, there will be a pent up, cougar tweak in the thigh muscles of many conference attendees.  They will look at one another and get dry eyes and get headaches and they will head to Dupont Circle and they will drink too much and then take embarrassing photos of themselves.

I go back to this conference every year.

4 Responses to “AWP”


  1. 1 amethystvineyard February 4, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    You should report on this, you know, like it’s Cairo or something.

    And “cougar tweak”–Good God, the images on that one.

    Can’t wait to read the new book (and maybe get it on a reading list down here–hint, hint.)

    Good luck Good Herbach!

    The Packers are in the Super Bowl?! @#$%^&!

    Love,
    Clurg

  2. 2 mrmcclurg February 4, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I’m a technoboob. I think I posted that comment under my wife’s profile. She would have said something profound, not Packerish.

  3. 3 mrmcclurg February 4, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    And now it looks really weird because the comment I screwed up has to be approved and my bonehead replies stick like gold plating. Which may not be that good, come to think of it.

    I love you, Herbach.


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

