Super Bowl

The Green Bay Packers are in the Super Bowl for the first time in over a decade.  I’ve spent a few hours reflecting on the power of the Packers in my life.  I remember probably a thousand moments, many of them captured in snapshot, where I’m showing my colors: Green and Gold.

For instance, here I am on a couch in New York, circa 1977, presenting my colors while my Jewish family argues about dinner in the background.

Packers

Beautiful.  And, I did remember my love for the Packers to be monolithic.  I remember crying as the terrible teams of the seventies were whipped yet again (of course, there were moments of greatness: who can forget Lynn Dickey to James Lofton?). Oh did I cry.  But I stuck with them, right?  I was steadfast, loyal, patriotic… Or, was I?

Is it possible, at some dark point, my faith was shaken?  I don’t remember!

But, while digging through boxes for photos, I found this!  I’m quite sure it’s a Franco Harris jersey!

That's right. Pittsburgh Steelers. 1979.

Yes.  The Steelers (Bradshaw, Swann, Stallworth, Greene, Harris, Ham, Lambert, etc.) won the Super Bowl in 1978 and 1979 and it seems I caught the fever.  That’s wrong!  Un-Patriotic!  Not cheese-headed!  Wait… What kind of kid was I?  A traitor?

Then I found this picture, which clearly shows me training to play classical music in a Russian conservatory.

Going all Rostropovich on it!

And then I realized that I don’t remember my youth that well.  Where was I?  Who was I?  The seventies were Cold War years.  Was I part of this some how?  Was I sent by Soviet classical musicians for some reason?  Did they put me in a Steelers jersey so I’d blend in?  Look at this!  Siberia, am I right?

Siberian Herbach

That’s a lot to chew on.  Thankfully, I have too much work to do today to really get into it.  I think I’ll buy a cello later, maybe tomorrow, to see if I can still play (I’m sure I was brainwashed and re-wired so that I cannot forget how to play cello).  After that, I’ll probably go for some pizza, because I could use a nosh.  Then, I’ll pursue the truth.  Then I’ll read the latest Super Bowl news.  Go Packers.

1 Response to “Super Bowl”


  1. 1 secondhalfshow January 25, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Who are you going for pizza with? Can I come?


Leave a Reply

