First Car, part I

My first car was a neon green Ford Fiesta, 1979.  It went from zero to 30 in one second.  It had a hard time exceeding 40, however, except on steep declines.  The car was very light.  It couldn’t have weighed more than 140 lbs, which is the average weight of great dane.  My friends would pick up my neon green Ford Fiesta, 1979, and turn it sideways in its parking slot up at the school.  They’d place the back bumper inches from the car to the right and the front bumper inches from the car to the left.  I’d walk into the parking lot, swear, and sit down next to the bicycle rack (thinking I should’ve ridden my bike).  I’d wait until one of the cars left, which would give me enough space to turn and pull out, because the Ford Fiesta, 1979, could turn on a dime.  If the owner of the car on the right showed up first, I would get yelled at, because they would have to use the passenger side door to get in, as my turned car blocked access to the driver’s side door.

Here’s a video of a neon green Ford Fiesta, 1979, doing poorly in a rear-collision test.

It’s my first day of the semester today.

 

4 Responses to “First Car, part I”


  1. 1 Steph January 11, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Good luck, honey! Don’t get a wedgie!

  2. 2 Adam R. January 31, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    I too have many memories of the neon green fiesta. I remember you giving me the keys to bring the car around one late night after a track meet. Being only 15 and never driven a car I was so excited, but was soon to have my bubble burst. Try as I might I could not get the car to start. I kept thinking, how hard could this be? You put the key in and turn. Even for a weak, moronic Jew like me it should work. When I failed to bring the car around I was forced to return the keys with a sense of defeat I have yet to top. Only then did you share the secret with me of how to coax your green beauty into surrendering her power. Push in the clutch. Obviously, having never driven a car, let alone a manual, that thought never occurred to me. Probably a good thing too. Who knows what would have happened when I released it.

    • 3 Geoff Herbach January 31, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      So funny, Adam. I have a vague memory of this event. What was I thinking to ask you to drive a manual at 15??

      • 4 Adam R February 3, 2011 at 3:01 pm

        I guess you felt I was ready to take the big leap to shifting from the driver’s seat instead of the passenger seat. Eventually, you did let me drive the car “illegally” without a permit. My, what a rebel I was.


Leave a Reply

