A blizzard? Really?

As I unsuccessfully try to wrap up my semester duties at Mankato, I am both befuddled and bedazzled by the weather forecasts emanating from the Twin Cities this hour.  According to Paul Douglas — a hero to many meteorology students — we are to receive fifteen to twenty inches of fluffy snow, which will then be whipped by angry, polar winds, so that our homes, cars and children will eventually be buried.

My mother is supposed to fly to Colorado tomorrow morning, because my grandmother is ill.  I am concerned for this trip’s viability.  We shall see.

In the afternoon, me, Steph and the kids are going to “A Christmas Story” at the Children’s Theater.  On their website, the theater suggests that they do not cancel performances for any reason.  This presents something of a problem.  What if the streets are impassable?  Doesn’t this increase the chances that our children will be lost in snow drifts?

I am having a difficult time doing my work.  A giant blizzard?  I have a hard time believing it.  Is this some kind of Laura Ingalls Wilder book?  I suppose I do live in Mankato.  Can’t wait til the chinooks blow this spring, pa.  We’ll eat again then…

Little Herbach on the Prairie

0 Responses to “A blizzard? Really?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

