Stupid Fast on Goodreads

Why not add Stupid Fast to your Goodreads lists?  Yes!

Stuff is beginning to come online for Stupid Fast, my new YA book, which comes out in June of 2011.  It’s a super speedy, sad, jumbled, jumpy, little tale of a young man named Felton Reinstein who has gone from a Squirrel Nut to Stupid Fast in the space of a very short time.  Something about the change drives his family crazy.  Here’s a short summary…

I, Felton Reinstein, am Stupid Fast. Seriously. The upper classmen used to call me Squirrel Nut, because I was little and jumpy. Then, during sophomore year, I got tall and huge and so fast the gym teachers in their tight shorts fell all over themselves. During summer, three things happened all at once. First, the pee-smelling jocks in my grade got me to work out for football, even though I had no intention of playing. Second, on my paper route the most beautiful girl I have ever seen moved in and played piano at 6 a.m. Third, my mom, who never drinks, had some wine, slept in her car, stopped weeding the garden, then took my TV and put it in her room and decided she wouldn’t get out of bed.

Listen, I have not had much success in my life. But suddenly I’m riding around in a jock’s pick-up truck? Suddenly I’m invited to go on walks with beautiful girls? So, it’s understandable that when my little brother stopped playing piano and began to dress like a pirate I didn’t pay much attention. That I didn’t want to deal with my mom coming apart

You can now add the book to your Goodreads reading list (I am a fan of Goodreads).  Do that right here!

I do think female YA readers will like the thing.  I’m really psyched to get it into the hands of boys who have stopped reading.  If you know YA librarians, give them a shout (or send them to me… I’d love to chat with them about boys and reading — reading saved me, for God’s sake).

In the book, Felton loves to run up the Big M

Speaking of Goodreads, you can look at all the Goodreads Class of 2k11 books here!

I’m going to have a glass of water and some bacon, now.

2 Responses to “Stupid Fast on Goodreads”


  1. 1 Missy November 16, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I told my YA library friend!!

  2. 2 Geoff Herbach November 16, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Thanks, Missy! Betty just friended me on Facebook. She seems like a peach of a person!!


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

