Worth mentioning…

Because much of the content of this blog has revolved around various physical injuries I’ve incurred while trying to figure out how to be both an older fucker (I am that) and also a fit motherscruffer (I’m heavy as a small piano, but I can run), many of the viewers of this blog have internet searched for terms such as sore tendon near buttocks, fat man calf injury, bulging disc above buttocks, intestinal distress after mac and cheese, fraying hammy string, etc. to arrive here.

For those of you who have, I want you to know, I am not a medical professional. Nor am I a fitness professional.   I hurt myself often running and also sometimes weight lifting, and also one time doing yoga.

Failure Pose #2

Do I have any insights for not-so-young fitness people?  Oh, many.  Or, perhaps one.  Here it is: Like all things worth doing, achieving a reasonable level of fitness, which perhaps I have — I can comfortably run many miles when I am not injured, which I am right now (calf pain) (I can only, rather uncomfortably, run 3 miles currently) — takes patience and steady effort across stretches of time we of the information age can barely fathom (I’m talking months, years).  It is a practice.  One must remind oneself most days, mantra like, that doing the business doesn’t hurt as much as you fear doing the business will. (mantra: it won’t, it doesn’t, it won’t, it doesn’t, I feel better when I am done.)  That one day doing the damn duty improves the chances the duty will be done again, damn it.  And, at that moment the little squeaky shivering flab stabbing voice in the back of your head says no, you must say yes, for saying yes is where the action happens. And that is why I often look like Tom Hanks in Castaway. (Perfection.) See this?

Steely Mr. Herbach

Steely Mr. Hanks

Don’t worry about your sore tendon just below your sore buttocks.  Don’t worry if you’ve eaten peas bobbing in cheese and macaroni.  Your calf muscle will get better or it won’t.  Only continued action matters.  No matter what, you must still say yes, internet health surfer.

1 Response to “Worth mentioning…”


  1. 1 Britt June 17, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Thank you for not mentioning the scrotal hernia.


Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

