Summer Cow Lick

Won't sit down.

Life is not controllable.  For instance, since Memorial Day morning, the beginning of summer, I have had this cow lick in the front of my hair.  It’s a reverse Alfalfa.   It is a Tin Tin.

The opposite of Alfalfa

Similar to Tin Tin.

I have tried various methods for the knocking down of this hair aberration: showering, gel, wax, water, egg white, meditation.  But, it (the hair) does what it wants.  It reminds me of Reinhold Niebuhr’s serenity prayer, which was adapted by Alcoholics Anonymous and put to wonderful use in Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five (it, in fact, sets up the theme of the entire book, I think).

God, give us grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed…

Hairdo.

I suppose I could cut the hair.

Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.

Hairdo.

I think I’ll take a long hot shower.  See what happens.

0 Responses to “Summer Cow Lick”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

