Break time = getting down to business

So, the day spreads out in front of me.  All that’s on the schedule is my daughter’s spring concert, which will take no longer than half an hour sometime around 7pm this evening. Perfect.  I will get to work.

There are many things I could be doing that are not exactly what I should be doing but are reasonable things to be doing, given they need to get done.  For instance: gardening, going through the accumulation of papers and magazines that has clogged the artery near my couch, cooking, cleaning, clipping of nose hair-like tufts of grass in the backyard the mower man I pay has no interest in shearing.

But, really, as it is school break-time, what I really need to do is this: produce bunches of words.  Oh hell yes, I will do a first draft of a new book in the next month or so… starting… now.

I like smoothies of banana and berry.  Look, I’m not smoking these days, but I suck nicotine lozenges too much.  How many do I have left?  Do I need to make a lozenge run?   Look out the window!   Squirrel!  Where’d he go?  There’s a hole in my fence.  It hasn’t been completely constructed yet.  Is that my fault? I am empty.  My refrigerator contains something seriously sweet-ass (I bought grass fed beef from the co-op yesterday and I can’t wait to eat that business…  hungry!  Buns).  It’s 7:45 a.m.?  My neighbor has a birch tree.

That's a birch tree out there, Mister.

2 Responses to “Break time = getting down to business”


  1. 1 Missy May 28, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I love where this book is going! Epic.

  2. 2 miracletour May 28, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Oh yes! At least an entire section (book II, I believe) will be devoted to my freaking banana smoothie.


Leave a Reply

