Two more big trips… And what about health?

One, a southwest odyssey, which starts today. The other, a trip to NY at the end of the month.

This is the big one. El Gigante con Queso (no!). I’m going with the kids to Colorado and then to the Grand Canyon. I finish the trip in Las Vegas for a couple of readings and the kids go home with Grandma. Twelve days all-told.

Last time I was on the road for more than a few days, I ate nothing but cheeseburgers and nachos and vast amounts of Thai food that surely buffered the Thai-American economy through-out the spring. I didn’t exercise. I still smoked. I felt utterly horrible (like my eyeballs were going to pop out of my head, because of high blood pressure, perhaps). This will not happen in August. August is for Herbach.

It starts this morning. At the airport. Where my children will want pancakes and donuts and danish. This guy… look at me in the eyes right now… is going to have a couple of delicious pieces of fruit and a lot of water. August is mine.

I have to hope there are places to exercise in the cities of the southwest. I have to believe there are. I will bake like adobe as I bound jaguar-style, among the cacti and the scrub, up the sides of desert mountains!

That’s my pledge (or, at least, I pledge to do something akin to that, perhaps in motel health clubs).

0 Responses to “Two more big trips… And what about health?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

