Work, part II

Okay, I spent a portion of this week exhausted by a bachelor party (my last never-married friend of the old guard is about to get married, and it should be quite excellent, as he is smart and 37 and she is similar and a sweet delight). We repeatedly jumped off a house boat into the Mississippi long after even the moon went down and it was devastating – I’m so bruised and sore, I cannot walk almost.

Jump! Swim! Something like that… Not an ad for “What color is your parachute?”

The other part of my week has been spent freelancing and teaching. Not bad. I like that work. Work?

I enjoy freelancing (not much money). I enjoy teaching (better money, but not great, at least in my circumstance).

Work. What color is my parachute?  I’ve been thinking about this a lot: I do get into teaching, but it isn’t necessarily because of the content (don’t get me wrong, I love lit and film and even can get into comp, but it isn’t what I like about teaching). I tend to get into everybody’s business when I teach. That’s what I really like to do. I find out about lots more than students’ academic lives. I find out about every little detail often. I completely enjoy knowing my students and talking to them about larger concerns and possible solutions. It seems to me I’d be a good counselor and seriously enjoy doing it. But, oh, do I want to go to school again? Because that’s what that would take. More school.

And, wait… I don’t want to stop writing, because it makes me happy. It doesn’t make me much of a living, though. Is there some way to combine the counseling and the writing?

Not artist rendering of aged Andy Sturdevant.

Yes, I believe there is a way to write and counsel. And, perhaps make a living doing it. Mmmmm… Oh, man, though. School? I am all into attending class, but not necessarily paying for it. Mmmmmm….

Urgh….

0 Responses to “Work, part II”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

