Ran on an incline and I should know more than I do.

Because I am something of a fatty at the moment (due to high calorie intake associated with angst regarding not smoking — this is a mouthful in more ways than one), I have really been achy while doing my runs, which are necessary to reduce some of the angst regarding not smoking.  My lower legs have been killing me.  Still, I stumble on for fear that I’ll turn to massive quantities of nicotine should I not exhaust myself on the painful treadmill.  Today, however, something different…

I popped the treadmill up to a 3% grade and ran slower.  I huffed and puffed and sweat like a beached whale (I’m assuming they sweat), and really worked it 1988 style (when I was in high school and very fit), and my lower legs didn’t ache at all.  Was this because I was running up a hill as it were?  I have no idea.  I felt great.

Now, I’ve looked around the interweb a bit for information regarding the incline and the decline in my lower leg pain and I’ve found nothing.  I can’t say with factual certainty that the incline helped me at all, and yet it seemed to.  Why aren’t there studies that are suited to my needs?  What’s the point of these tonnages of information if I can’t get a hold of the information I want?

The good news: I feel great!  The bad news: I’m not exactly sure why!  The good news: it shouldn’t matter, because I feel great!  The bad news: It bothers me that I don’t know why… a lot.

5 Responses to “Ran on an incline and I should know more than I do.”


  1. 1 crazygina July 23, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    I did the same thing yesterday – I went with the “random” setting on the treadmill and the dang thing switched itself up and I had to keep adjusting my speed – but man I sweated so much more than I have ever before running – which was weird. I don’t feel differently than if I would have just ran regularly… so.. not sure. Wish I could be of more help! be stoked that you feel good!!

  2. 2 miracletour July 23, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    I’ve been totally curious about that “random” setting. I sort of figured it would kill me. Think I’ll give it a shot. Maybe the key is just that: a randomness so that your body isn’t constantly doing the same thing and taking on the same stresses. Doesn’t explain our cooperative sweating, but might explain why I’m feeling good (still!).

  3. 3 crazygina July 23, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    yea try the random setting – it’s fun. I like to cover up the treadmill menu so that you can’t see what’s coming up. i heard that mario lopez said that changing up your workouts like that is what gets you into shape faster … or maybe i read it on a magazine cover at the supermarket. who knows. haha
    glad you’re still feeling good

  4. 4 jmcc July 31, 2008 at 12:12 am

    here’s my theory (i kind of wanted to be a physical therapist for about a year in high school, so it’s a pretty solid opinion): the incline stretches your lower leg muscles with each step. On a flat, everything knee and lower is pretty much taking on impact, but on the incline, more muscles are worked and the angle prompts a stretch, especially if you’re focusing your “forward” movement through your thighs (rather than kicking out/up with your calves).

    very glad you’re keeping with it!

  5. 5 miracletour July 31, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Jeez, I think that makes sense. You’re “the natural” of the PT world!


Leave a Reply

