What is too much information?

I’ve spent the last couple of days seriously accounting for my money situation, really digging into spending and income and my business expenses and documentation and it has been hard work.  But, I thought, absolutely worth it.  It is so important to know exactly what you’re dealing with.  What are the variables?  What are the spending drivers?  How much money do you actually have and how long will it last in an emergency?

I have nickel and dimed myself into a depression.  What I know now that I didn’t know a short, sweet time ago: there are real money problems happening in my accounts.  Significant trouble.  I feel terrible and wonder if the life an artist is actually for me.  I don’t think I can afford it.

So, here’s a good mental health question: If you are an artist and need to have a certain amount of courage and a certain swashbuckling attitude in order to move forward, is it actually healthy to understand your finances?  Or, is it better to battle on in ingorant bliss, because, face the facts, if you want to do this kind of work, chances are your finances are going to suffer.  Why worry?

Today, I am worried.

0 Responses to “What is too much information?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

