Oh, Lake of the Isles!

Proprioception is a person’s sense of the relative positions of the parts of the body. It is the sense that should allow me to fix my own form while running. I no longer care about being fast. I care about running comfortably and for distance and I care about turning my brain off. To accomplish all that, as I begin running again, I’m really checking my form (so that I can find a pace and a flow that will allow me to turn my brain off). Today was absolute hell. I stayed up late last night and had beer and french fries for dinner. While running everything felt out of whack and my feet fell hard on the pavement. My knees ached and my hips ached and my shins ached. I thought and thought about form, but could not adjust my body into a comfortable gait. Around two miles into the run, I thought, I’m going to injure myself. So, I stopped running and walked comfortably and looked at the Lake of the Isles and enjoyed the sun and thought I am a very lucky man to be here. As I age, some of the joy of exercise is not exercising, but rather being out there in the world in my body (which couldn’t run, but felt great walking next to a perfect urban lake).

0 Responses to “Oh, Lake of the Isles!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

