Insomnia

I am a sufferer of insomnia. Sometimes, back when I smoked, I could smoke myself into passing out. That isn’t healthy. Now, I’m not sure what to do when I can’t sleep.

Is neighbor Andy Sturdevant awake? Herbach hears something at 1:20 a.m.

I’m quite sure playing around with the computer is not relaxing. But I’m on the computer, so I decided to make the best of it and I did a bit of research. I know this stuff.

What are some of the causes of insomnia?

  • Stimulant use: Caffeine, Nicotine, Herbal Supplements (Super B!). Did have a green tea at 4 pm. Could that be it? I doubt it. Very often I can have a coffee after dinner without a problem.
  • Food: Eating right before bed can mess you up. I didn’t eat right before bed, but did go to Salsa a la Salsa at the Midtown Global Market for dinner and I did eat 1400 corn chips and then a giant meal of steak enchiladas with black beans and spanish rice. Delicious! I am an oinking explosion in waiting…  for Mexico’s rise… you might say. I didn’t go to bed for several hours, though. And, I don’t feel full anymore.
  • Sleep Environment: Is your bed a mess? Do you have a disruptive partner? Are you too warm, cold, etc.? Maybe. I’m too warm, among other problems. My bed is a little broken, too.
  • Stress: What have I got to be stressed about? Money? Money. Money! Money. I’ve been thinking about money all night. I think I need more money, but I can’t exactly do anything about it while I’m awake here in my living room, listening to police cars and the shouting late-night pedestrians on 31st St. Money.

Yeah, green backs! I have this anxiety that I’m going to lose my house and not be able to pay my child support and I’ll get sick and won’t be able to cover the deductible on my high deductible health insurance. And then I get sweaty and notice my bed is a little broken and the sheets get all curled up around my legs and I honestly would like to kick out the windows in my room, because I am completely trapped (kung fu style kicking, of course).

Kung Fu kick my windows.

There are lots of solutions to insomnia ranging from relaxation techniques (“now I relax my toe muscles…”) to drug use. I believe the key to my insomnia is behavioral. I, like many others, have to face financial facts. I need to budget, see how I’m going down… because I am… and consider looking for higher paying work (fiction writers, unless they write Harry Potter or something, make dillywhack as do online teachers). Or… something. Portions of the day have to be spent thinking about this stuff, because what a pain to spend the night doing it (while hazy and adrenaline-filled).

2 Responses to “Insomnia”


  1. 1 Lex Ham Rand July 1, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Ah, insomnia, that persistent bitch. My little 3am friend. Using up precious neural energy at 3am that won’t be there at 9:30am when it’s time for staff meetings….and photocopying…and creating deliverables…..

  2. 2 miracletour July 1, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Exactly! I don’t mind staying up all night, necessarily. I do hate what becomes of the day after. I have things to do today and I am the freaking walking dead. Coffee is not helping.


Leave a Reply

