Beer. Oh, I likey! How much is just right?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, there is evidence that “moderate” consumption of alcohol is actually a boost to the health of the “moderate” consumer. Check this out from Professor David J. Hanson of SUNY Potsdam:

Alcohol And Health

Moderate drinkers tend to have better health and live longer than those who are either abstainers or heavy drinkers. In addition to having fewer heart attacks and strokes, moderate consumers of alcoholic beverages (beer, wine or distilled spirits or liquor) are generally less likely to suffer hypertension or high blood pressure, peripheral artery disease, Alzheimer’s disease and the common cold. Sensible drinking also appears to be beneficial in reducing or preventing diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, bone fractures and osteoporosis, kidney stones, digestive ailments, stress and depression, poor cognition and memory, Parkinson’s disease, hepatitis A, pancreatic cancer, macular degeneration (a major cause of blindness), angina pectoris, duodenal ulcer, erectile dysfunction, hearing loss, gallstones, liver disease and poor physical condition in elderly.

I mean, really. That’s a lot of stuff alcohol can help with! And, not just red wine, ALCOHOL, GENERALLY, used SENSIBLY! Is it true? He’s a professor saying it, but also, obviously, a big fan of ALCOHOL, GENERALLY. The NY Times would tend to back him up (although, they say it is a slightly controversial claim — because drunks and fights and driving and sexy dancing, etc.).

So, moderate. What does moderate mean? Just to reiterate:

I’m not in this picture, but easily could be!

Is this moderate? Last night I had two HAMM’s the BEER refreshing.

They were quite delicious at the end of a long, hot day. I could easily have reached for one more! Or for several more! Instead, I stopped at two. Oh two, yes. And I went to bed, got up this morning clean headed, and went for a nice run, feeling no ill-effects of having consumed two beers (two sad beers).

So… Would my intake be considered “moderate” or would it be considered “palsy” and not enough to encourage the good effects of alcohol consumption? I think I know the answer. I think you probably can’t get drunk, like I didn’t get drunk.

It did still taste good! Yay! I didn’t catch a buzz at all. Boo. I woke up feeling fresh like oranges! Yay! I like the buzz part, too. Hmm. Choices.

Once I start drinking beers, it is hard to stop. I get on a roll. I do the whoop whoop. Can I drink two moderate and sensible beers regularly? Hmm.

Leave a Reply

I am…

Geoff Herbach. I am the author of Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, among a bunch of other stuff. When I'm not writing, I teach writing at Minnesota State, Mankato.

Stupid Fast

Nothing Special

I’m With Stupid

Fat Boy (Gabe Johnson Takes Over)

PowderKeg Stage

Herbach's favorite store

My Bizzle

wordpress stats plugin

